Easiest Chewy Molasses Cookies Ever!

IMG_7465

I LOVE COOKIES!  Almost nothing beats a chewy, crispy, warm cookie especially after a long day.  One of my favorite parts of baking cookies is the smell that it leaves in the house.  That intoxicating smell of vanilla, chocolate, sugar and spice filling your home for you to enjoy even before the cookies are done.  I mean they even make candles after that smell, it’s obviously amazing.  Now I love pretty much every kind of cookie, even oatmeal raisin, but my favorite kind of cookies are the spiced kind.  The ones that warm my soul and fill my belly.  The ones that remind me of Christmas and Thanksgiving, being with family and friends.

Being in Montreal I am away from all of my family and sometimes I get a little homesick so yesterday I decided to make a cookie that would make me feel like I was with my family.  It is so incredible how a certain food can make you feel closer to your family when you are so far away.

This recipe is so super easy, fast and incredibly delicious.  I literally whipped them together in between cooking dinner and helping David get the baby to bed.  Something really amazing doesn’t always have to be complicated.  I found this recipe on Dessert For Two blog and what I loved about it was it was simple, quick and can easily be doubled.  I was really happy how the cookies came out and if you are looking for something that is seriously delicious with no-fuss these are the cookies your looking for.

images

Ingredients

Makes 12 cookies

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground all spice
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • ¼ cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 3 tablespoons molasses (not blackstrap)
  • ¼ cup coasse sugar (I used brown sugar and it worked find)

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, spices, and salt.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the melted butter and brown sugar until fully incorporated.  It might take a minute so be patient.
  3. Add the egg yolk and molasses, and stir until combined.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until fully combined
  5. Cover and chill the dough for about 15 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 375F.
  7. Pour the brown course sugar in a bowl
  8. Scoop out 12 balls of dough, and roll each ball in the sanding sugar generously.
  9. Space 2″ apart on a baking sheet, and bake for 8-9 minutes, until puffy and starting to crack.
  10. Transfer to a wire wrack to cool.

Once the cookies have cooled ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

