The Start of Something New

New starts are scary.  I know for me I love to live in my little comfort bubble but realistically it is not a very productive or inspiring place to be.  Stepping, or probably tripping (I am a bit clumsy), out of my comfort zone has taught me that I can do anything and most of the time it is not going to be easy, it is going to be uncomfortable and I might fail but it is always worth it.  Here I am going to share my story.  Now, it is not my whole life story but more of a summary of how I got to where I am today and why I started this blog. Enjoy!

10403313_10207138454212325_5902478634819173317_n

I have done a lot in my life, career wise I mean. Retail, doctor and vets offices, paralegal, spa receptionist, restaurant manager, fitness instructor and honestly the list could go on and on but I won’t make you listen to my long list of what I thought could have been potential careers. About 5 months ago I decided to make a huge decision that would basically change my entire life. Now, being almost 30 years old it is scary to make such huge decisions. I am not a kid anymore, I have responsibilities, so to make this decision was scary as shit! So, what huge life changing decision did I make? Well, it was kind of a group of small decisions that culminated to one huge decision. First, I broke off my engagement. Yeah, that was a big one. Next, I decided I was going to move to Montreal to be with the guy I left my fiancé for. I know, it sounds bad BUT I had a lot of reasons and honestly I am over explaining that decision to people. All you have to know is that I did what was going to make me happiest in life. Moving to Montreal meant I was leaving my career. The first job I had truly loved and felt happy doing after searching for so long. I was the Store Manager for Vans (the shoe company) in Florida. I made a great salary, health benefits, it was an incredible company to work with and I decided to leave it to move to Montreal to be with the guy who I left my fiancé for. See what I mean? Lots of small choices that merged into this one huge life changing event.

Fast forward to today and I am happier than I ever thought I could be. I live in a beautiful city with the man I love, I am learning French and I have acquired an absolutely amazing step daughter who brings so much joy to my life. You could say I am #blessed. Now, since I am living in Montreal I cannot work until I get a work permit from the government. Needless to say I have had a lot of free time on my hands. At first, I would go shopping and exploring and then I ran out of the money I came here with…whomp whomp. Living on a single salary with a baby is not easy but we make it work!

I had to get creative and start finding things to do that did not cost us too much money. I have always loved baking and cooking, mostly baking though so I started to do it again just for fun. The fun started to evolve into something much more, it became something I did not want to stop doing. It was something I looked at blogs, recipes and cookbooks all day. Figuring out why I was supposed to use this flour instead of this one and what happens if I do this instead of this. I baked almost everyday sharing my treats with friends and seeing the joy it brought to them. That feeling of giving someone a something you made from scratch and them enjoying it more than you ever thought they would is incomparable. That’s when I realized this is what I want to do, like forever.

I have so much to learn and it is something I crave to learn more about. Baking has brought me a sense of peace. I have struggled with anxiety for a long time and I don’t feel anxious when I am in the kitchen. I have learned to be more patient and how to fail and learn from those mistakes without beating myself up. I learned to let my ego go and know if something does not work or is a bit off I can do it again and nail it. Baking has given me self confidence back not only in the kitchen but in my life. If I never made those crazy life changing decisions who knows if I would have ever been able to find how much I love baking and the happiness it brings to my life (David’s too. I mean who doesn’t love free baked treats daily?)

One thought on “The Start of Something New

Leave a Reply

